Skip to content

My Cat named Winge..

June 5, 2008

This morning my family said their final goodbyes to a most wonderful, loving cat. Her name was “Winge” – I know, what a weird name! My husband named her that when she introduced herself to him when he bought the farm she lived on….she talked so much, that he said that she was always winge-ing hence, it stuck. She had alot of funny nicknames along the way too. She had been a farmyard cat, but had wanted to be adopted. She made that very clear when I and the children moved in…and of course, she, and we, won out🙂 She became an official part of our blended family.

When we eventually moved from North Yorkshire, to Montana, she went with us and discovered the joy of being the sole cat on 40 acres! And, when we moved to Canada, she and our 2 dogs enjoyed a National Lampoon-style cross country road trip for a week, consisting of a caravan of 3 cars and a canoe🙂

We thought we had a few more years to share together. We were stunned to find out that a routine shot that was required, actually had a 1 in 50,000 chance of producing a cancerous tumor; and wouldn’t you know it? our beloved Winge was the 1… the vets had held out a slim chance with an operation, but when the time came, it was determined that it had been too aggressive and had spread.

We took her back home, and for the last few days lavished her with tons of love, and tuna and chicken🙂 She left this world, the Queen of cats, and is sorely missed.

Forgive my entry, Lenormand lovers, it is all that is on my mind. Writing this little tribute has been cathartic, so I hope you’ll humor me…

I love you Winge, thank you for all the love and smiles over the past 10 years….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2008 12:07 pm

    Hello Spirity,

    I’m so sorry to hear of Winge’s passing. Having lost beloved pets of my own – I know how hard it is. It just leaves an empty spot in your life – an empty spot that lasts a long while.

    Hopefully, knowing that other people are thinking of you and grieving with you will help ease your pain a little.

    Be sure to think back on all the wonderful things your precious Winge brought into your lives, that might help the sorrorw a bit.

    Sammie

  2. June 5, 2008 1:14 pm

    This brought tears to my eyes. My heart aches for you. I’m so sorry…

    (((((SpiritSong)))))

    ~Kiki

  3. phoenixoracle permalink
    June 5, 2008 11:48 pm

    Hi Lisa

    May the angels rejoice the return of another precious family member to their home, and all the tuna, chicken and fish that she can eat. She’ll certainly have lot’s to whinge about with all her feline family.

    Many blessings to you and your family.

    Phoenix

Leave a Reply

