Skip to content

A question about learning combinations-

December 9, 2008

I received a nice comment from Tanya in the Ukraine and wanted to make it a main page post so that I could insert a link or two and a picture with my reply – so here it goes! :

Hi Spiritsong,
I have read your coments, I like it very much, I am new to these cards, but they are the best from all decks I have seen before and they are unique. Could you give me an advise how to remember all these combinations of cards. I am very interested to learn to do the reading. I am from Ukraine and people in my country never seen these card before. I am from a family where nearly each member (female only) of my family could do a fortune reading but with a playing cards. I have got Sylvie Steinbach book “The Secrets of the Lenormand Oracle” and 2 decks of Lenormand’s cards and I am trying to understand the technique, but I need help.
I am looking forward to your reply.
Kind regards,
Tanya

 

 Hi Tanya!

Thanks for your kind words. I know exactly what you mean about trying to remember combinations..it’s a daunting task, and one that I’m am still working on. Glad you have Sylvie’s book – it is a fantastic reference. I would highly recommend reading, and actually working through the Virtual workshop that Sylvie did on the Aecletic Tarot Forum. Click here to check it out. That virtual class will give you a great start on how to “think” Lenormand.

 

From there, it’s tons of practice, and I recommend keeping a journal of your draws and readings. You will then be able to see what you got right, and what you missed. And by keeping a record, you will see how the cards want to speak to you. The more you work with the cards, the more your Higher Self will give you more meanings that relate to you. I think all of the original students who went through the workshop with me at the time would say the same (Phoenix&Aristede come to mind, for example).

 

Aristede and I were so gung-ho that we partnered together, last Winter/Spring, on making up flash cards for study. On one side were small graphics of a 2 card combo, and on the other would be meanings from Sylvie’s book and class. I printed them off on business cards and put them on jump rings. I never got them all printed off unfortunately, but still plan to. Then I’d take a set and keep them with me to flip through and ‘test’ myself🙂

I still think that was a worthwhile project, because it helps to imprint seeing the cards with a meaning.

Here’s a picture of some of the cards:

 

first-deck

 

 

cards1

 

Another thing that’s ongoing with me, is I have a special (and of course, decorative) notebook- just for my thoughts on the lenormand cards. I cut out mini prints of each card, and taped them to pages in the book. As a new idea about a card, or a combo comes to me in my studies, I write it down. I’ll skim through later on, and be surprised at some of the things in there, because I’ve forgotten!

 

book1                 book2

 

So first, I would definitely go through the free teachings and exercises listed above- it’s open-ended, so if, after completing a lesson, you still have questions, either Sylvie or one of us who went through the class earlier will answer you. It’s an invaluable source.

 

I think the only other thing I would recommend, is to not combine different teachings at the beginning. Stick with one until it’s firmly implanted, and then experiment and explore. It’s a LOT less confusing that way, and gives your subconscious a chance to imprint some meanings. Otherwise, you’ll end up with too many meanings!

 

How fortunate for you that you come from a family who reads playing cards! That’s become a passion of mine in the last few years.

Be sure to check out The Art of Cartomancy link in my blogroll too! We have a wonderful community of people, at all levels of ability, learning and sharing how to read playing cards. I can’t say enough good things about my friend, Kapherus- He’s a master at them in my opinion🙂

 

And of course, although I’m still learning, I’ll answer any questions that I can. I can’t recommend the free class strongly enough- it’s a good starting off point.

Best wishes,

Spiritsong~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 12:17 pm

    Wow! What an absolutely fantastic post with wonderful ideas on learning the cards. You’ve given me some really great ideas!

    Thank you!
    Lori

    • spiritsong permalink*
      December 11, 2008 12:59 pm

      You’re so very welcome! The more you play with the cards, the more they will become a part of you.

      I have been a tarot reader since my teens, (and still read every day) but the Lenormand has totally won out my heart🙂

      Spirity

Leave a Reply

